Sea Sense is governed by a Board which takes overall responsibility for the Organization, including responsibility for identifying key risk areas, considering and monitoring decisions, considering significant financial matters, and reviewing the performance of management. The Board is also responsible for ensuring that a comprehensive system of internal control policies and procedures is operative, and for compliance with sound governance principles. The Board meets at least once per year. An Executive Committee comprising five members of the Board (including the Chair and Treasurer) meets quarterly. The Board delegates the day to day management of Sea Sense to the Director of the Organisation. 

The Board is chaired by Professor Yunus Mgaya (National Medical Research Institute) and Board Members include Dr Magnus Ngoile (UDSM), Melkiory Ngido (Deloitte Consulting Ltd), Catharine Joynson-Hicks, Jason Rubens (Sound Oceans Ltd), Dr Blandina Lugendo (UDSM) and Dr Mathias Igulu (WIOMSA).